Cheetahs In My Shoes

living with the imaginary menagerie and all that it entails

Anemones

5 Comments

I wrote about making pizza with our gorgeous next door neighbours last week.  As well as being some of the nicest people you could ever, in your wildest dreams, hope to live next door to, the also have a kitchen that causes me to have bad attacks of kitchen envy.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my little kitchen, my blue glass tiles and the fact that I helped build and paint it – but 10 years on, it’s showing the signs that I did help to build it and the bits that were a little bit wonky are now struggling under the weight of my newer, heavier pots and pans.

Anyway, back to the kitchen envy.  Just sitting there in a very plain white jug on her windowsill were these lovely anemones.   Picnik may have gone but Picassa has adopted many of the features so with a bit of technological jiggery pokery (although not that much), I bring you these:

I love how anemones have such beautifully defined petals but look so solid at the same time

and despite the fact you look at them as a solid colour, in the middle there’s a little blast of colour just waiting to be spotted

and that the stems may look a bit straggly but actually they’re just doing their own thing, getting ready to bring some more beautiful blooms to us.

Kitchen envy – yes, flowers in kitchen looking amazing envy – yes.  Envy is not a good thing – maybe I should go and buy some new flowers for my windowsill.  What do you think?

 

Author: Jenny

Life, photos and recipes mixed with family life, additional medical needs and a whole load of imaginary friends

5 thoughts on “Anemones

  1. So nice to see some normality back in your lives. Long may it last! Lunch dates, making pizza, a new kitchen?

    I always find that flowers can really lift a room, they certainly lift my spirits.

    Lesley x.

    • oh a new kitchen – if only! I used to buy myself flowers every week when I was a single girl (cheap stall next to Warren Street tube) – my husband doesn’t see the point! As for normality – we’ve got about 2 weeks until the next round of appointments start…but they include a couple of birthdays!

      • Ah, well, sometimes it’s the small steps forward whilst lurching between the dramas which make us feel ‘normal’ x. That’s how I felt last year, feels like miles away now 🙂

  2. Beautiful photos and thanks for linking up to I heart snapping. x

Thank you for your comments! The Cheetahs and I really appreciate them.

